Media Enquiry


Back to Press Release
10 Aug

New World Mathematics Awards 2016 Nurtures Young Chinese Mathematics Talents To Foster the Development and Advancement of Mathematical Research Globally

Established by New World Development Company Limited ("the Group"; Hong Kong Stock Code: 00017), China Young Leaders Foundation and world-renowned Chinese mathematician Professor Yau Shing-Tung, the fourth New World Mathematics Awards (“NWMA”) was held at the Beijing Hotel on 6 August. This year a total of 43 young Chinese mathematics research scholars from around the world attended the prize presentation ceremony to the applause of more than 200 renowned national and international scholars and experts.

Hao Wu from Universite Paris-Sud 11, Lin Wang from Nanjing University, Junyi Xie from Ecole Polytechnique, Jie Zhou from Harvard University, Shen Lin from Universite of Paris-Sud and Ziming Nikolas Ma from The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Tony Yue Yu from Universite Paris Diferot – Paris 7, Yunqing Tang from Harvard University and Jian Xiao from Fudan University & Universite Grenoble Alpes are awarded the Gold Prizes of PhD Thesis Awards. Jiaming Chen from Tsinghua University is awarded the Gold Prize of Master Thesis Awards. You-Cheng Chou from National Taiwan University, Yangjiao Wen from Tsinghua University, Sitan Chen from Harvard University, Shih-Wei Liu from National Taiwan University and Liyang Yang from Tsinghua University are granted the Gold Prizes of Bachelor Thesis Awards. On the other hand, NWMA has nominated 14 Silver Prizes of PhD Thesis Awards, 10 Honorable Mentions of PhD Thesis Awards, one Silver Prize of Master Thesis Awards, and three Silver Prizes of Bachelor Thesis Awards.

Mr Shang Yong, Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Secretary of China Association for Science and Technology; Ms Leonie Ki, Executive Director of New World Development Company Limited; Professor Xue Qikun, Vice President of Tsinghua University; Professor Yau Shing-Tung, Chairman of International Committee of NWMA ("International Committee"), the Fields Medal Laureate, professor of Harvard University; have presented prizes to the awardees as tokens of appreciation and congratulations. On the other hand, Professor David Gross, the Physics Nobel Prize Laureate, professor of University of California, Santa Barbara; Professor Edward Witten, the Fields Medal Laureate, professor of Institute for Advanced Study; mathematicians from different renowned educational institutions such as Harvard University, Tsinghua University, Fudan University and Chinese Academy of Sciences are also invited.

“The establishment of NWMA not only rewards mathematics research papers of the highest standard written by Chinese students studying for their bachelor’s, master’s or doctoral degree programmes, it also acknowledges general excellence on the part of young mathematics talents,” says Professor Yau Shing-Tung, Chairman of the the International Committee. “We wish to encourage young talents to keep up the good work and overcome their limitations. This will help nurture greater numbers of brilliant men and women who can steer the development of the mathematics in China.”

“In an era in which rapid development of science and technology as well as new inquiries into the mathematics field are critical, nurturing mathematicians is of paramount importance,” says Mr Adrian Cheng, Executive Vice-chairman and Joint General Manager of New World Development Company Limited and Chairman of China Young Leaders Foundation (“CYLF”). “By hosting NWMA, we hope to develop talented Chinese youngsters all over the world to seek the truth. It is also consistent with the mission of China Young Leaders Foundation: A commitment to support young people in realising their life values and dreams for a brighter future.”

Co-initiated in 2007 by Dr Henry Cheng, Chairman and Executive Director of the New World Development Company Limited and Professor Yau Shing-Tung, and supported by New World Development Company Limited and CYLF, NWMA is held every three years to acknowledge outstanding young Chinese mathematicians from around the world. Now launched for the fourth time, this Year’s "New World Mathematics Awards" ("NWMA") Presentation Ceremony is organized by Yau Mathematical Sciences Center of Tsinghua University, fully supported by New World Development Company Limited and CYLF.

The International Committee is  chaired by Professor Yau Shing-Tung, a renowned mathematician, professor of Harvard University; and panel members include Professor Benedict H. Gross at Harvard University; Professor Stanley Osher at University of California; Professor Wilfried Schmid at Harvard University; Professor Camillo de Lellis at University of Zurich; Professor Duong H. Phong at Columbia University; Professor Akito Futaki at University of Tokyo; Professor Thomas Hou Yizhao  California Institute of Technology; and Professor Li Jun at Stanford University.

This year’s awards event continues to attract Chinese mathematics students to submit a host of research papers of the highest standards, covering diversified areas likes fundamental mathematics, applied mathematics, probability statistics, biomathematics and others. As of today, a total of 125 Chinese students from different fields of mathematics have earned awards; all are brilliant scholars with outstanding research results. Most of the awardees have already furthered their studies at reputable universities around the globe, or have become recognised experts in different areas of mathematics. Some have also been invited by higher education institutions to serve as senior researchers.