Media Enquiry


Subscribe to news alert

Back to Press Release
18 Oct

New World Harbour Race 2015 5th Anniversary with New Elements and Record Number of 2,330 Swimmers

  • Allan Do Carmo and Ana Marcela Cunha from Brazil clinched the champion titles in International category
  • Ying Wa College and Diocesan Girl’s School came first in the pilot School category
  • In the newly introduced Charity category, 20 swimmers completed the race for a worthy cause
  • For the first time, the organiser set up a giant balloon to help swimmers locate the finish


New World Harbour Race 2015, title-sponsored by New World Development Company Limited (New World Group) and organised by the Hong Kong Amateur Swimming Association (HKASA), was successfully concluded today at Victoria Harbour. The 5th edition of this signature event attracted a record number of 2,330 swimmers from different countries and regions. To celebrate the 5th anniversary of the Race, the Organiser arranged an interactive game for swimmers to pass along large inflatable balls at the starting area to enhance the atmosphere. There were also magic shows at the medal presentation ceremony and the carnival. Thousands of spectators gathered along the harbour to watch the iconic annual event.

The 1500-metre New World Harbour Race 2015 kicked off at the Sam Ka Tsuen Public Pier in Lei Yue Mun, Kowloon and finished at the Quarry Bay Park Public Pier. The gun-firing ceremony at 8:30am was officiated by Carrie Lam, Chief Secretary for Administration, Wong Kam-sing, Secretary for the Environment, Adrian Cheng, Executive Vice-chairman and Joint General Manager of New World Development Company Limited, Gary Chen, Executive Director and Joint General Manager of New World Development Company Limited, Leonie Ki, Executive Director of New World Development Company Limited, and Ronnie Wong, President of the Hong Kong Amateur Swimming Association.

The International category once again drew overseas elite swimmers gearing up for the Rio 2016 Olympics. Among athletes from 10 countries and regions, Allan Do Carmo and Ana Marcela Cunha from Brazil took the Men’s and Women’s champion titles by clocking 13:46.2 and 14:04.8 respectively.

The new School category for all secondary schools in Hong Kong expanded the scope of participation. School swimmers competed in teams of two in this pilot inter-school open water race. In the Men’s category, Tse Hon Ting and Cheng Yuan Andrew representing Ying Wa College came first, while Yeung Pak Wai and Chan Wing Yau Clavel representing Diocesan Girl’s School were crowned the champions in the Women’s category. There were no rankings in the debut Charity category, all athletes and celebrities completed the race and raised funds for non-profit making organisations.

Ronnie Wong, President of the Hong Kong Amateur Swimming Association, said, “New World Harbour Race is an iconic Hong Kong swimming event. To celebrate its 5th anniversary, the enrolment quota has been raised from 2,000 to 2,500, with 1,900 in the Leisure group to allow more swimmers to enjoy the unique experience of swimming across Victoria Harbour. With the Rio Olympics scheduled for next year, the Race drew some of the world’s best swimmers to compete alongside local swimmers, enhancing the Race’s international status. To further improve the facilities, the Organiser set a giant balloon to help swimmers locate the finish.” 

As the title sponsor of New World Harbour Race 2015, Adrian Cheng, Executive Vice-chairman and Joint General Manager of New World Development Company Limited, said, “We are truly honoured to have been the title sponsor of this incredible event for the fifth consecutive year. With a commitment to making the event bigger and better, we introduced the new School and Charity categories this year to engage more people from different walks of life. We are very pleased to have retired and current athletes, public figures, as well as representatives from NGO partners of New World Springboard taking part for a good cause. Congratulations to the 12 young swimmers of New World Springboard from three districts finished the race with encouraging results.”

In the K11 Harbour Race Youth Category Men’s and Women’s Individual Aged 12-16, Kwan Ho Yin and Chui Tak Yi won the race by clocking 14:45.8 and 15:37.7 respectively. On the other hand, local swimmers Luk Wing Kin and Pang Hiu Kwan were declared the male and female champions in the Open (A) Aged 17-34 Individual category, with the time of 16:07.4 and 16:48.8 respectively. Champions of the Open (B) Aged 35-59 Individual, Nortje Craig Andrew and Barnes Ruth clinched the top titles by clocking 15:47.4 and 15:49.1; while in the Open (C) Aged 50 or Above Individual, Kehoe Andrew John and Kirkwood Tain Mhaira who finished in 16:23.0 and 16:56.9, took the trophies. Champions of the Invitation category went to Tung Ching Ho of Water Supplies Department and Yu Sze Wai of Hong Kong Police Force who clocked 16:36.4 and 18:52.2 respectively.

All swimmers finished New World Harbour Race within 1 hour and 15 minutes this year. The oldest and youngest swimmers, aged 76 and 12, successfully finished the race in high spirits. Full results of the race will be uploaded to the New World Harbour Race website at


About New World Development Company Limited

New World Development Company Limited

Founded in 1970, New World Development Company Limited (“New World Group”, Stock Code: 17.HK) was publicly listed in Hong Kong in 1972 and is a constituent stock of the Hong Kong Hang Seng Index. A diversified holding company with a focus on property development, New World Group’s core business areas include property development, infrastructure and service, department stores and hotels. As at 30 June 2015, the total asset value of the Group amounted to HK$397.9 billion.

As at 31 December 2014, the Group has an effective interest of approximately 61.3% in NWS Holdings Limited (Stock Code: 659.HK), approximately 69.7% in New World China Land Limited (Stock Code: 917.HK) and approximately 72.3% in New World Department Store China Limited (Stock Code: 825.HK).


About the Hong Kong Amateur Swimming Association

Hong Kong Amateur Swimming Association (“HKASA”) was founded in early 1950 by the President, Mr. A. de O. Sales, and it took part for the first time in the Olympic Games in Helsinki 1952 with four swimmers. It was subsequently registered under the Societies Ordinance on 28th April 1960. It is a member of the Federation Internationale De Natation (FINA), Asian Swimming Federation (AASF) and Sports Federation and Olympic Committee of Hong Kong, China (SF & OC).

It is the sole governing body of swimming sports in Hong Kong covering all swimming, diving, water polo, synchronised swimming, open water swimming and masters competitions and activities here. In the past 60 years, the Association has been promoting and developing swimming sports, thus raising the standard of swimming, nurturing elite swimmers and providing training to athletes, officials, judges and coaches in Hong Kong through organising different competitions, training courses and relevant teaching activities.

The Association now has over 120 affiliated clubs with over 8,000 registered athletes, offering all properly accredited persons the opportunity to represent Hong Kong in a wide range of competitions and meetings here and abroad.